Interview with attending author Andie M. Long

andie

It isn’t long till The Book of Irish 2015 signing in Dublin.

Today’s featured attending author is ‘Andie M Long’

10978718_1710740605818842_1341088996443700826_n

Come and see Andie M Long at the 2015 Book of Irish signing. 11th July, Dublin. Tickets still available.
http://www.eventbrite.ie/e/book-of-the-irish-signing-2015-t… ‪#‎DublinAuthorSigning2015‬ ‪#‎BookOfTheIrish

What inspired you to start writing?

Do you know, I’m not sure. I read voraciously as a kid. I remember being told by a teacher when I was 5 that I couldn’t possibly have already read the book I’d been given, but I had. I just couldn’t read enough. As far back as I remember I wanted to write a book. I just didn’t do it for a very long time…

How long did it take for you to write your first book?

Twenty years! Hahahaha. Well that’s how long it took for me to go from saying I was going to write one to actually writing it. When I got to 40, I decided to do it or stop going on about it. I eventually drafted my first novel Underneath in 6 weeks. I started it and then I was told about Campnanowrimo. I joined in and loved the daily stats we had to achieve. One of my Uni friends was doing it too and we had a healthy word count competition to urge each other on. I couldn’t believe I’d actually done it. Then it took me 9 months to edit it. I released it 3 years later when I decided self publishing was the right route for me.
How do you come up with ideas for your stories?

They just appear in my head like films. I did get an idea for a future novel from something Dermot O’ Leary said on the radio. He couldn’t give a bride her first choice of song on her Wedding Day. It set me thinking …

What is your writing routine like? Do you have a set schedule or are you flexible?

When I’m in the thick of it I try and achieve 2k a day. I work best with targets and giving myself deadlines. I don’t have a set time for writing. I have a job and a child. Routine is impossible. I write a book in a blast, then I have time ‘off’ where I market the ones I have out already or edit others.

What inspires you to write?

One of my biggest inspirations is the fictional character of Carrie from Sex and the City. Something about how she experiences life and writes about it resonates with me. I’m inspired by the world around me, the sky, clouds,  a snippet of conversation heard on the radio.

Are any of your stories written from personal experience, or any character traits that mirror yours?

My characters appear in my head like real people and the stories are entirely fictional. In all my books though I’ll put at least one thing in that really happened, to record it. It’s usually something that was stranger than fiction. Like in Underneath where there’s a bathroom behind a wardrobe door. That really happened. Out of all the characters I’d say that Ronnie from my upcoming book is the most like myself. I guess she’s my inner ego. She’s crackers and smutty mouthed. In real life I behave, but she’s what’s in my head. Or maybe I’m just possessed because she NEVER shuts up.

Tell us about your latest release.

I’ve just put together and released a book of short stories and poems called Quickies. You can get it free by signing up to my newsletter via
http://eepurl.com/-mm-9, it’s also available on Amazon. My next novel, Ronnie’s story, The Calendar Game is out on the 13 April. It’s a companion novel to The Alphabet Game. It’s been my most difficult book to write to date as she wouldn’t do as she was told.

When in a slump, what do you do? If you read or listen to music, what are your go-to books or music?

I am constantly on the go. My sister sums it up perfectly. I’m 100% or 0%. I kind of go on until I burn out. If I’m not writing or working, I’m taking my kid out, gardening (I’m growing flowers and vegetables this year), baking, card making and of course reading. My go-to music is girly pop like Rihanna. At the moment I’m loving Meaghan Trainor’s CD. Book wise I’m in the mood for reading something really different, gripping. I just read a great book called Gravity and I’m loving Keira Cass The Selection right now. I’d been reading a lot of authors attending the signings which has introduced me to some fabulous writers and I’ll be back to my list soon.

What is your writing space like? Do you work anywhere or do you have a special place just for your writing? Messy or clean?

I type straight onto my laptop, which is on a laptop cushion on my knee. Either in bed under the duvet or in the conservatory, depending on the temperature. I have to be warm! At the side of me will be my notebook. I create large character profiles.

Do you have a favorite author? Series?

Lots but I love Rachel Caine. Her Morganville Vampires series is a must-read and I read all her Weather Warden books. Just fabulous.
If you could write with any other Author, who would it be and why?

Oooh. I’m not sure I could write with anyone else. It’d have to be someone like a really good author friend like E J Shortall, or someone who writes funny stories like Penny Reid or Alice Clayton.

Are you excited about Dublin – Book of Irish Signing 2015?

I can’t wait. I attended Edinburgh last year as a Reader and Peterborough last month as a Author so I’ve been both sides. The experience is amazing. Meeting like-minded people who will talk books for hours. Then Dublin. I’ve only been for one night before. I’m coming for a few days so I can see a little more. If you’ve never been to a signing, grab your friends and come for a minibreak. You’ll be addicted from here on, I promise you. Come see me. I can chat for hours …
THE ALPHABET GAME – THE COMPLETE SERIES: A TO X, Y, Z.
Read all four parts of The Alphabet Game in one complete volume.
Stella Mulroney is playing a game. It’s taken her two years but she finally has an interview at Gregory & Sons, the top London law firm that looks after her stepfather’s interests. She plans to discover what her Multi-millionaire Stepdaddy really invests in and bring him down. Unwittingly, she’s caught the attention of Hot Alpha Gabriel ‘Gabe’ Gregory, son of her Stepfather’s top Lawyer. He wants to know why Stella has such a need for revenge and would prefer her to channel that fury into a game of his own, ‘The Alphabet Game’. After all, his is much more fun to play. With a thoroughly evil bad guy, secrets, lies, murder, twists, turns, hot sex and love, this is a game not to be missed …
Genre: Erotic Fiction 18+
UK: http://amzn.to/1zsbv4R
US: http://amzn.to/1jhrYnH
CA: http://amzn.to/1q2c2ZD
AU: http://bit.ly/1onBAcJ

Underneath: LAUREN LAWLER’s life is visually perfect. However husband Niall seems to have forgotten she exists. Running a Vintage shop on Ebay and meeting her best friend Monique for coffee and shopping, Lauren feels settled but bored. Collecting her nine year old son Joe from school one day, she discovers that the new mum at the gates is her old school foe Bettina.
Lauren is initially wary, but encouraged by Niall, attempts to be friendly, getting involved with the school’s summer fair so that Bettina can meet other parents. This throws Lauren into working with Seb, an outwardly nerdy looking teacher who turns out to be a hidden attraction. As Niall continues to be distant, Seb’s attentions become ever more tempting.
Bettina says she is back escaping a violent husband, but best friend Monique doesn’t buy it and warns Lauren to be careful.
As a vendetta threatens everything Lauren has taken for granted, she has to discover who she can trust. But how much does anyone ever really know about those around them, what’s underneath?
UK: http://amzn.to/1ufWcrO
US: http://amzn.to/1qgCRHC
CA: http://amzn.to/1DNR4RI
AU: http://bit.ly/1B4NBNy

Facebook – https://www.facebook.com/andiemlongwriter

new banner

Leave a Reply

