Vicky’s Review of Semper Mine by Lizzy Ford

Semper Mine Lizzy Ford2

A STANDALONE novel in the Sons of War contemporary military romance series … 

“A freak accident landed both of the Khavalov twins under my command, just before a routine mission turned into a nightmare. I brought home one twin in a coffin and the other in a coma missing his leg. I did everything right – and still people died. I can’t forget that night or how many lives it changed, including mine.

It’s natural for their sister, Katya, to blame me. I made one decision in the middle of a firefight, and it shattered her sheltered world. I’m the ice to her fire, and when we first meet, it’s not pretty. I don’t fear war or death, and I am definitely not going to let a beautiful woman with a quick temper and broken heart scare me off, either. I know she’s hurting, and I’m determined to make sure she’s okay. It’s the least I can do for the twins. 

I may have failed them that night, but I won’t fail her. What I’m not counting on: the feelings she ignites within me.” – Captain Sawyer Mathis

Semper Mine2 lizzy ford

My Thoughts

5*

This book was phenomenal!

Lizzy hit the nail on the head here with real emotions, and the pain of losing a sibling.

The hurt, the anger, and the devastation that is left behind in those that survive them.

Life is never easy but when you lose someone you love, how do you go on?

That is exactly what Katya faces during this great tale of what can happen while serving our country to protect those we love. When one of her brother’s comes home in a coffin and the other in a coma , the only thing she can feel towards the guy who was their captain is anger. The character’s  were very relate-able and mostly like-able.. their may have been a not so nice guy..  AND what can I say about Captain Sawyer “Iceman” Mathis.. He is kinda one of those hard on the outside, teddy bear on the inside kind of guys and I think I just found my newest BBF!!  Being forced to spend some time together due to circumstances, Katya struggles to even be in the same area as him. Sawyer seeing the pain he caused Katya , really only wants to ease some of that pain, but her anger towards him makes it harder than he hoped. Can these two people learn to be in the same space and learn to work together?  This is the first non-paranormal books of Lizzy’s that I have read and she did NOT let me down. The story flows well, and once I started it took no time at all before I finished , because I could not put it down.

Stay up to date with Lizzy here on Facebook:
https://www.facebook.com/LizzyFordBooks

Grab your copy of Semper Mine Here:
AMAZON US: http://amzn.to/1nF4MjV
AMAZON UK:http://amzn.to/1lwrWXd
BARNES: http://bit.ly/1kt2HCH

Leave a Reply

